How i started programming!

How i started programming!

A short bio

When I graduated from secondary school, I found myself in a state of dilemma because I didn't registered for the JAMB that year. I had limited access to computers, the only point of access was my church, where I was a member of the media crew. I started learning graphics design on my own, which at some point was discouraging because it seemed like I wasn't making any progress. However, I was consistent with it.

A few months after consistent practice, I started working in a cyber cafe as a graphics designer. My primary job was to design complimentary cards, banners, invitation cards, etc. I gained experience and added to my knowledge as I worked from place to place. On a Wednesday evening, while scrolling through Opera News, I saw a headline about a 22-year-old boy who had built an app and sold it for $1 million in China. I was impressed and curious to know how he did it. After a few Google searches, I came across the term 'software development' and other areas of specialization in tech. Even though I didn't have a laptop, I took a bold step and started learning on my phone. I began with HTML and was feeling proud of myself after learning how to use some tags to output 'Hello world' 😂. I updated my WhatsApp status by writing "<! Doctype html>", and I got a message from a friend of mine who was studying computer science at a college in Manchester, UK, saying, 'Welcome to web development.' It was then that I realized there was a lot to uncover, and my journey began...

After 8 months of learning on my phone, my uncle gave me a laptop. It was another puzzle, but I got along with it. I met my mentor, Tejumola Timi (a software developer), and he guided me along the way. He occasionally sent me data to study online courses. In 2020, I gained admission to study English (B.A) at Olabisi Onabanjo University. Classes took up a lot of my time, and I had very little time to practice, but I remained consistent. I have also built a few websites. Lastly, Twitter has helped me a lot because I have access to a lot of information that aided my learning.

Now I'm currently learning React, Nextjs.